eSport betting tips: Against all odds, together

Astralis Becomes First-Ever Team To Win The Intel Grand Slam

Posted 10th December 2018 By: Derpina    629 Views

Astralis Becomes First-Ever Team To Win The Intel Grand Slam - Tipify

Esports News – History is made as Astralis becomes the first-ever CSGO team to win the Intel Grand Slam (IGS) and its $1 million prize pool after dominating all the ESL Pro League Season 8 Finals. The title is awarded to any CSGO team that wins four Intel or ESL events in a span of 10 tournaments. At the same time, Nicolai “device” Reedtz bags the MVP award by HLTV. org and Betway at their last tournament.

Road to Intel Grand Slam

Astralis beat Team Liquid 3-1 in the grand finals of the ESL Pro League Season 8, lifting their fourth Intel-ESL title after winning DreamHack Masters Marseille, ESL Pro League Season 7, and IEM Chicago. Out of the 10 required events, it only took Astralis nine IGS-sponsored events to win the prize. Even if they lose Pro League Season 8 Finals, they still have a shot at the IEM Katowice Major in February to seal their victory.

At their last event, Device claimed the MVP award after averaging a team-leading rating of 1.26, the fourth-highest overall rating recorded and his 12th MVP medal. He was in the top five of the eight stats leaderboards, dominating the charts for total opening kills (49). Device, at present, is the AWPer and top player of the group. He’s responsible for Astralis’ recent victories against Vici Gaming, Mousesports, and Hell Raisers, allowing him to reach his peak performance levels of the year.

IGS Season 1 events And winners

Apart from Astralis, there are other teams who are also eligible to win the prize. They still have to win one or two events to get the IGS award and prize pool. Faze Clan was the first team running for the title after winning the ESL One New York 2017, IEM Sydney 2019, and ESL One Cologne 2018. However, they failed to cement their names as the first winners after losing ESL One Cologne 2018 and DreamHack Masters Stockholm 2018.

Seven other teams are still completing their IGS Season 1 cycle. The complete list of IGS events and their respective winners can be found below:

ESL One Cologne 2017 – SK Gaming
DreamHack Masters Malmö 2017 – G2 Esports
ESL One New York 2017 – Europe FaZe Clan
IEM Oakland 2017 – Ninjas in Pyjamas
ESL Pro League Season 6 Finals – SK Gaming
IEM Katowice 2018 – Fnatic
DreamHack Masters Marseille 2018 – Astralis
IEM Sydney 2018 – FaZe Clan
ESL Pro League Season 7 Finals – Astralis
ESL One Belo Horizonte – FaZe Clan
ESL One Cologne 2018 – Natus Vincere
DreamHack Masters Stockholm 2018 – North
ESL One New York 2018 – Mousesports
IEM Chicago – Astralis
ESL Pro League Season 8 Finals – Astralis


Written by Derpina