eSport betting tips: Never bet alone

EPICENTER Major 2019 Tournament Details

Posted 20th June 2019 By: Derpina    498 Views

EPICENTER Major 2019 Tournament Details - Tipify

Nitrogen eSports

Esports News – The Dota Pro Circuit 2018-19 season is nearly over, and the EPICENTER Major will be the one to conclude it and make way for The International 9 (TI9). The final major tournament features 16 teams from the six regional qualifiers at the CSKA Arena in Moscow. The winner takes home the lion’s share of the $1,000,000 prize pool and the valuable 15,000 DPC points for TI9.

Competing teams

The 16 Dota 2 teams were qualified through the regional qualifiers. There will be two teams each from CIS, Southeast Asia, North America, and South America, and three teams each from Europe and China. The last two teams standing will be crowned the winner and the 2nd runner-up of the StarLadder ImbaTV Minor Season 2.

For the first few stages of the competition, participants are divided into four groups, following the usual format of the previous DPC Major tournaments. In Group A, the teams competing are Team Secret, Fnatic, Pain Gaming, and Royal Never Give Up. In Group B, the participants are Team Liquid, Evil Geniuses, Gambit, and Infamous. Group C carries Virtus.Pro, Forward Gaming, Vici Gaming, and Alliance. Lastly, Group D has PSG.LGD, Ninjas In Pyjamas, OG Esports, and TNC Predator.

Tournament format

The EPICENTER Major opens with the group stage, followed by the playoffs. The group stage happens in two days, from June 22 to 23. The top two teams from each group moves onto the upper bracket while the bottom two competes at the lower bracket. All games in this stage follows a BO3 format.

The playoffs happens on June 24 to 30. It follows the traditional double-elimination format, but the last three days of the tournament will be hosted at the CSKA Arena in front of a live audience. All games are in BO3, except from the lower bracket round 1 which is in BO1. The top two teams from the playoffs will move on to the grand finals to compete in a BO5 format and to settle the champion.


Written by Derpina