eSport betting tips: Together we can beat the odds

ESL One Rio 2020: Brazil’s First-Ever CS:GO Major

Posted 12th December 2019 By: Derpina    179 Views

ESL One Rio 2020: Brazil's First-Ever CS:GO Major - Tipify

Esports News – Competitive CS:GO is ready to take off once again. ESL, one of the biggest esports organizers in the world, announced the introductory CS:GO Major event in 2020. ESL One Rio will pave way for next year’s competitions as the first-ever Major tournament in Brazil.

Ulrich Schulze, Senior Vice President Product at ESL, partnered with Intel Brazil’s Marketing Director Carlos Augusto Buarque to host the event. In a press release, Schulze commented: “We are extremely excited and proud to host the next Major in Brazil. Our aim is to bring pure esports moments to the most passionate fans around the world and reward them by creating a unique experience on all levels. With CS:GO teams from all over the world having a chance to qualify and making their way to the final, we expect the matches to be incredible and the crowd to be the loudest we have ever seen.”

Tournament details

ESL One Rio is part of the ESL Pro Tour, a new circuit combining all major ESL and DreamHack tournaments. All CS:GO tournaments feature new tier levels leading to Masters Championships—Open, Challenger, and Masters. The concluding tournaments are IEM Katowice in Poland and ESL One Cologne in Germany.

Jeunesse Arena will hold ESL One Rio’s main tournament and playoffs stage. It’s the same venue that hosted the League of Legends 2017 Mid Season Invitational and Rainbow Six Siege Season 8 Pro League in 2018. After a series of minor tournaments, the grand final crowns its winner in the arena. The winner earns the lion’s share of the $1 million (£758,770) prize pool and a direct invite to IEM Katowice 2020.

Ladder of events

32 teams
Studio broadcast without an audience
10 winners advancing to the next stage
April 20 to May 3

16 teams
Studio broadcast without an audience
8 winners advancing to the next stage
May 11 to 14

16 teams
Studio broadcast without an audience
8 winners advancing to the next stage
May 16 to 19

8 teams
Live broadcast at Jeunesse Arena, Rio
May 21 to 24


Written by Derpina