eSport betting tips: If in doubt, Tipify it!

Twitch Rivals Announce LoL Team Draft Showdown In NA

Posted 8th January 2020 By: ThisIsSam    506 Views

Twitch Rivals Announce LoL Team Draft Showdown In NA - Tipify

Esports News – The first minor League of Legends competition for 2020 is on its way. Twitch Rivals, the official organization handling the competitive events for Twitch’s streamers and viewers, announced the details of League of Legends Team Draft Showdown in North America this January.

Tournament details

The tournament features 8 LoL teams with members hand-picked by selected captains. These captains are some of the biggest Twitch streamers in the LoL community. All participants compete for the title and the $75,000 prize pool from January 21st to 23rd.

The LoL tournament draft was broadcasted on Twitch and was hosted by Daniel “dGon” Gonzales and Erik “Doa” Lonnquist last January 6. Each team name takes the captain’s LoL username. Here are the competing teams and their respective captains:

Team A

BoxBox(C), Nidhogg, TSM Sword, xFSN_Saber, Joeyyy
Voyboy(C), Fallenbandit, Masterfiend, Osama, Lohpally
TFBlade(C), Tarzaned, Wayofthetempist, Value247, Papa Chau
Tyler1(C), 1adrianaries1, IWillDominate, Hai, Metaphor

Team B

Shiphtur(C), Dragoon, shorterACE, Saskio, Shady
Trick2g(C), Foggedftw2, Cookiemanman, Horsey, Geranimo
Yassuo(C), Sanchovies, LS, Benji, Starsmitten
Nightblue3(C), TonyToplol, QuantumFizzics, Jurassiq, HistoryTeacher

The Twitch Rivals League of Legends Team Draft Showdown kicks off its group stage on January 21 at 1:00 pm PST. The second round robin for teams A and B is on January 22nd at 1:00 pm PST. Should there be tie-breakers, the remaining teams compete at 11:00 am PST on January 23 before the playoffs take place.

The tournament is available for live streaming on the official channel of Twitch Rivals and Tipify’s Live Streams page. The European version of the tournament takes place after NA, although Twitch hasn’t revealed the full details and schedule yet.

Last year’s winners

Some of this year’s participants already competed last year. Team Tyler1, led by Tyler Steinkamp, won the title and the lion’s share of the prize pool. Rabia Yazbek of Team Nightblue3 finished second, while Ashkan Homayouni of Team TFBlade and Hammoudi Moe A. of Team Yassuo came in 3rd and 4th place. Last year’s low-ranking teams led by Chance “SoloRenektonOnly” Morris and Michael “Imaqtpie” Santana are not present in this year’s draft.


Written by ThisIsSam