eSport betting tips: If in doubt, Tipify it!

WESG Russia Qualifiers: Teams, Schedule, Format

Posted 30th January 2020 By: Derpina    286 Views

WESG Russia Qualifiers: Teams, Schedule, Format - Tipify

Esports News – U Can Company (UCC) confirmed one of the biggest CS:GO regional tournaments for 2020. The World Electronic Sports Games (WESG) Russia qualifiers takes place on February 7 to 14. In closed and open qualifiers, a total of 8 teams compete for the title and the most coveted spot at the WESG Global Finals.

Tournament format

The open qualifiers starts on February 1. For nearly a week, WESG-registered Russian teams compete in a single-elimination bracket to get the available spot on the closed stage qualifiers. Two teams are crowned winners on two open qualifiers and moves to the closed qualifier to compete against six invited teams.

From February 7 to 14, the final 8 teams compete in a double-elimination, BO3 bracket. Here, the winner advances to the LAN portion of the tournament to go against one invited team. The grand final winner will earn a spot at the WESG Grand Finals.

Competing teams

Here’s the list of confirmed and TBA participants in the closed qualifier:

Russia Open qualifier #1
Gambit Youngsters
TBA (Invited)
Russia Open qualifier #2

Three of the invited teams at the closed qualifier are some of the best CS:GO teams in 2019. Spirit, for one, is notable for its grand final achievement at the Champions Cup Finals in Malta. UK team Pro100 was the champion of Qi Banja Luka 2019, DreamHack Delhi Invitational 2019, and HardCup. Gambit Youngsters, meanwhile, carries one of the legendary CS:GO players of all time, Dmitry “sh1ro” Sokolov.

Qualifier Schedule

Open qualifiers:

February 1-2 – Open qualifier #1 Sign up
February 4-5 – Open qualifier #2 Sign up

Closed qualifiers:

February 7 to 9 (Friday to Sunday)
18:55 – Upper bracket quarter-final

February 10 (Monday)
18:55 – Lower bracket round 1
21:55 – Upper bracket quarter-final
00:55 – Upper bracket semi-final

February 11 (Tuesday)
18:55 – Upper bracket semi-final
21:55 – Lower bracket round 1

February 12 (Wednesday)
18:55 – Lower bracket round 2
21:55 – Upper bracket final
00:55 – Lower bracket round 2

February 13 (Thursday)
18:55 – Lower bracket final

February 14 (Friday)
18:55 – Consolidation final
21:55 – Grand final


Written by Derpina